Farmers’ and Fletchers’ Hall

It is a proud boast of the Fletchers’ and Farmers’ Companies that their new Hall was the first Livery Hall not actually constructed on the site of a previous Hall to be built in the City of London for 250 years.

The Hall’s foundation stone was laid by the then Lord Mayor Sir Alan Davies on 4 April 1986 and building work went forward throughout that year.  The Livery Hall for the Farmers and Fletchers was completed in early May 1987 and the official opening by Her Royal Highness Princess Anne, the Princess Royal, took place at a lunch at the new Hall on 9 June 1987.  This was the first time that there had been a royal presence at a Fletchers’ Company function.

The Hall was subsequently refurbished in 2014-16.


First two paragraphs from The Fletchers’ Company of London 1969 to 2010 by Michael Roberts MA MCLIP, Honorary Archivist to the Company

More in this category: « Placemat 1371 Petition »